Exploring Tennessee – A Day Trip to Chattanooga

A little over a month ago, my dad and stepmom made the trek from south Florida to Atlanta to pay me a visit.  Whenever I have first-time guests, I like to show them around as much as possible so they get the most out of their trip.  By the last day of their trip, we had already explored around most of Atlanta so I felt a change of scenery was in order.

About an hour and a half drive from Atlanta is the quaint town of Chattanooga, Tennessee.  Before you get to the main street, you can stop at the Incline Railway.  The Incline Railway is a railcar that takes you a mile up to the summit of Lookout Mountain.  It’s a quirky-looking railcar since it literally goes up at a 72.7% incline and is built to make sure you’re not laying on your back on the way up.

Source: ridetheincline.com

We pulled into the parking lot of the railway, but discovered it was $15 a person to go up.  We decided to forgo the ride since we didn’t want to end up spending $60 for a 10 minute ride since there were four of us.  I was a little relieved since I’m a tad scared of heights and wasn’t particularly excited about riding.

After driving up, we were able to experience amazing views of Chattanooga and explore Point Park.  All of this made us work up an appetite, so we decided to head back down and find a place to eat.

Chattanooga1
My husband looking out over the summit.

It was a Monday, so downtown Chattanooga was a little quiet.  We strolled into a restaurant called Puckett’s and walked into an empty dining room.  That was a surprise to me since the last time I was in Chattanooga, Puckett’s had a line out the door.  I didn’t expect much from this place since I figured it was going to be geared towards tourists.  However, I was pleasantly surprised.  The barbecue was amazing and the prices were fair.

After an amazing dinner, we decided to take a stroll around the downtown area before heading home.  Make sure to check out the vlog of this day to get the full experience!

Leave a comment