4 Tips to Enhance Your Group Trip

Hi Everyone! I’m so sorry I’ve been a little sporadic on my blog posts lately. I’ve had a lot going on between getting commercial work done, going on a road trip, and hashing out the daily vlogs to go along with it. That’s no excuse though, so here I am with some more content for you! 

Posing at the Hoover Dam

As I mentioned, I just recently returned from a road trip with my best friends. It was a blast! Road tripping is one of my favorite ways to travel for many reasons and it’s even more fun with a group. That being said, putting seven people in a van for a week can definitely have its uncomfortable moments, which is why I thought of this blog post.

 

It’s inevitable that there will be moments in your trip that won’t be all fun and games. Luckily, there are some things you can do to make sure those moments are few and far between.

Watching a magic show at Pier 39

1. Make sure you actually like the people you travel with. This may seem like it goes without saying, but it’s one thing to spend a couple of hours with someone; it’s quite another to spend an entire week. You’ll start to see each other’s mannerisms, moods, and personalities that you maybe had no idea existed. Make sure you like each other enough where these things aren’t going to be a complete deal breaker and mood killer. The last thing you want to do is get back from a trip that was supposed to create memories and instead ended up breaking friendships. 

Hanging out at White Sands, NM

2. Make sure you take care of yourself. I don’t mean this in a selfish way at all. What I mean is, if you have any sort of ailment or injury that you know may hinder some activities, bring along the medication or whatever it is that helps you with it. If you know you get frequent headaches, don’t depend on someone else bringing the Advil (or whatever it is you use). Remember, they are your friends, not your babysitter. (If you need a babysitter, you shouldn’t be going on roadtrips anyway. Haha.)

Eating brunch in San Antonio, TX

3. Take care of each other. I know you’re probably like “But you just said—“ Yes. I just said to take care of yourself, but I also said I didn’t mean this in a selfish way. If you know your friends well enough beforehand, you’ll know that they may have some things they need help with. For example, my sister has a bad knee. She took care of herself by bringing her knee brace, but we made sure we hung back with her when she couldn’t walk as fast. I know that my friend gets car sick easily and being that we were going to be in a car for most of the week, I brought some Dramamine, which actually came in handy. My lady time was coming with me on this trip and I was grateful when my best friend shared some of her Midol. So you see what I mean, right?

Trekking through the Petrified Forest

4. Remember that humility goes a long way. This is probably the most important tip of all. It’s so important to remember that the trip is not all about you. It’s about the experience together as a whole. There might be times when the majority of you want to do something that you don’t. Sometimes you just have to suck it up and be grateful that even though you’re not too fond of what you’re doing at the moment, at least you’re in good company. If you act like a brat and pout, you’re going to look back at the trip and wish you hadn’t wasted time doing so. Trust me. My only regret from this trip is when I acted like a brat on the first night because I was really hungry (hangry) and didn’t want to eat the festival food since I was scared it’d mess up my stomach. That night would have been more enjoyable for me if I didn’t have such a long face. (And I’m sure my friends would have appreciated me not being so dramatic)

Right before hiking the Grand Canyon

Travel is all about stories and it’s a guarantee that even the “bad” moments will be a source of laughter after everything works out. Our road trip definitely brought us closer together despite all of our differences. Remember to have fun and be mindful of one another. Enjoy the experience and go out there and create some memories!

I’ll be writing some posts in the next few weeks that touch on each day of our trip.  You can watch the vlogs here!  

Do you prefer traveling in groups? Comment below and let me know!

Leave a Reply

