Let Them Laugh

Find your inspiration series: 

If you’ve ever looked up the Twitter hashtag #GrowingUpAverage , you’d be reading about my life. I’m not complaining about my childhood by any means, but there is nothing extraordinary about it. I was always expected to follow the rules and play it safe. While I wish I could say that I did nothing of the sort, I completely did. The problem is that while my life is wildly average, I’m also very creative. I don’t mean this in a bragging sort of way, but to let you know that my mind gets these crazy ideas sometimes.

 

I’ve gotten all sorts of wild ideas cross my mind. While some of these ideas had merit, most of them were laughed at. Anything from learning how to skateboard to starting a tourism company. I’m sure I’m not the only person out there with off-the-wall ideas that don’t include sitting behind a desk 40 hours (or more) a week, but that’s not the point of this post. The point is maybe something a little more somber. While it’s true that those who have laughed at me are the ones who are messed up – even more messed up is the fact that I let those laughs stop me in my tracks.

 

The laughter made me question myself. “Is this really a good idea?” “Maybe I’m being stupid.” “I really can’t do this, can I?” The problem is, this is your life. No one can make decisions for you. Are some of your ideas stupid? Absolutely. Are some of them so crazy they’re actually brilliant? Yes! You’ll never be able to distinguish that on your own unless you stop listening to the nay-sayers, haters, and even those who mean well, but who just don’t understand. 

 

They laugh because they’ve never done it. They laugh because, just like me, they were taught their whole lives to color between the lines. 

 

So let them laugh, but don’t let them stop you.

Leave a Reply

