Getting the Shot – Behind the Scenes

One of my goals for this year is to shoot more and more.  I decided to start out last month using myself and my husband as subjects.  As my previous post stated, I’m not a huge fan of winter.  I avoid being outside as much as I can, but I really wanted to do a shoot despite the weather. 

While I couldn’t really do a travel style shoot from indoors, I could definitely do lifestyle.  Everything I needed was at my disposal: two people and a fireplace. 

Don’t laugh at me, but I’ve never had a fireplace before so I was a little scared to do this shoot. (Silly, I know.)  I had this irrational fear that I’d set my apartment building on fire.  *spoiler alert* I did not burn the apartment down. (Go me!)

I used flash for this shoot but I didn’t want any shadows on the wall or the fireplace.  I achieved this by pointing the flash away from us and at an angle so it could bounce off of the wall.  

My husband sat in front of the fire waiting on me to test the light over and over.  The ideal piece of gear for this shoot would have been a trigger or remote for my shutter.  Alas, I don’t have one so I used the self-timer. 

This part was tricky because, while I had the lighting down, no one was behind the camera directing us.  That’s usually my job!  Needless to say, it was very tedious going back and resetting the camera and getting back in position.

Because the lighting was pretty consistent, I was more concerned about our expressions and positioning.  Did we look awkward?  Did it look natural?  It’s hard when you’re not able to see what’s going on before the shutter goes off.  It was the minimal things that made me have to redo the shot.  Eyes closed, covering the fire, horrible posture, and the list goes on.

At the end of the night, we were able to get a couple of shots that I was actually happy with.  I don’t think I’ll be getting in front of the camera again for a while!  Watch the full behind the scenes vlog here

Leave a Reply

