Why I’m Not a Gearhead

Let me be completely transparent.  I hate talking about money.  Mostly because I hate that for most of my life I’ve used it as an excuse as to why I couldn’t do something.  Also, I completely understand that what I’m about to say doesn’t apply to everyone.  It’s mostly towards those who have at least a smartphone of some kind.

I don’t know why I felt I needed to put a disclaimer on that but ok.  Moving on. 

So as I was saying, I can’t say that I’ve ever been poor.  Broke, yes.  Poor, no.  (Please understand the difference.)  I bought a Canon Rebel XTI in 2008 because I needed it for my digital photography class. (I wasn’t planning on doing anything with my degree after graduating but more on that later.)  At the time it was $600 – now you can get a used one for about $150.  I had to charge it on my credit card.  I think my phone now has more megapixels than that camera had.  And guess what… I shot with that camera until 2015.  Yes, you read that correctly.  Last year.  I bought a full frame camera and it still isn’t the latest and greatest.  It’s a Canon 5d.  Not a mark III, or a mark II.  Just a Canon 5d.

The last shoot I did on my Canon rebel March of 2015.

I also bought photoshop cs3 from someone that had upgraded and didn’t need it anymore. I paid $150 for it.  Guess what?  I still use cs3.  Like, I literally used it today to create my next email promo.  I also don’t have a Mac and my computer is slow.  But I make it work.

Sometimes we see the “big guys” get all this fancy equipment and we start to think we need it, too.  I know this feeling first hand.  I know that nice equipment helps.  I get it.  But no one needs it.  No one needs the latest and greatest gear to create what you want to create. 

If all you have is a phone that takes pretty decent pictures, then make it work!  There are apps and settings that can improve picture quality.  We, fortunately, live in an age where technology makes these sort of things easier. 

I’m not a gearhead because I’ve learned that although gear is important, it’s not everything.  Content trumps gear quality every time.  So get out of the mentality that you can’t do this or that because you don’t have the latest or greatest.  ‘Tis a lie! 

“Gear is the ultimate procrastination.” -Max Joseph

*Iris out*

This is what I usually bring to my shoots. Most of it fits in a fanny pack that I carry around. I just laid it out all pretty for the picture.
Leave a Reply

