7 Questions – Argie Mitra

I know I’ve been a little behind on the blog due to the big move, but without further ado, here is this month’s featured artist: Argie Mitra.

Argie is a stylist located in Jacksonville, Fl.  Her work has been featured in different publications and shows.  

1. What made you want to be a stylist?

I actually was a fashion designer first, and I never even knew you could be a wardrobe stylist! In learning the industry and building relationships with photographers, I realized that wardrobe styling was just as important as design. When you work with different clients and photographers, you get to do a variety of projects, whereas designing for your own brand requires you to stick to a certain aesthetic and market. Not that I don’t like that, but it’s definitely exciting to keep your eye creatively fresh with all the different shoots that come your way!

 

photo by Lauren Gherardi
 

2. Do you remember who you first styled for? What was that experience like?

My first styling experience was with Amy West of Journey Productions Media, and it was published in Jacksonville Magazine. We met through a mutual friend and she modeled for my line a few times, but it was pretty cool to find out she is also a photographer! Although during this period I was very adamant about being a designer first, I had so much fun creating the different looks and appreciated the opportunity of working with everyone involved.

 

Photo by Daryna Barykina
 

3. I know you’ve done multiple things from weddings to high fashion. Do you have a favorite “genre” and why?

While I love the creative freedom in fashion editorials, I actually really love commercial work. I love how detailed it can be, like how background extras in a TV commercial are styled in clothing that is a muted color palette of the company’s logo. When you’re working with a brand or product, you have to find the best and creative ways to feature it in the photography. A lot of times you have to think about what the end result is, and work backwards. 

 

photo by Ed Maximus
 

4. What’s something you think most people don’t know about styling?

I don’t think that people don’t know about this, but I would say people often forget about the work that happens in the weeks leading up to a shoot and the work after a shoot. There’s a lot of coordinating, negotiating, and of course, shopping, before you even get to the set. And after the shoot is over, you might have to explain to a designer why her/his collection didn’t make it into the final shots. It’s a hectic balance, but I still enjoy it.

  

photo by Lauren Gherardi
  

5. What would you say is the most difficult part when you’re on set?

For me, it really depends what the vibe is like that day. I don’t think any one thing is more difficult than another, but it could be that one day it’s really hard to get the model in the zone, or another day it’s difficult to appease a photographer and client butting heads on ideas and concepts. 

 

photo by Daryna Barykina
 

6. How do you stay updated on current trends?

For current trends, I really like watching the shows every fashion week season and looking at street style photos from bigger cities. However, I prefer mixing trends and classics or even avoiding trends, so that I can develop my own style.

 

photo by Toni Smailagic
 

7. Any advice for aspiring stylists?

My advice is to get to work and don’t wait for the phone to ring! Once you put yourself out there, you will start meeting new people and networking enough to create your portfolio and get paying gigs. Do your research, and don’t get discouraged by the immense amount of competition. Developing a brand and unique style is what will make other creatives and clients want to work with you!

 

photo by Robert Max Photography
 
You can see more of Argie’s work on her website: argiemitra.com

Leave a Reply

