Mini-Session Mania

So I know I’ve been behind on my blog. Things have been hectic, but honestly it’s no excuse. It’s the time of year when my fashion side slows down a little and my family side picks up. (Not that fashion ever stops! Definitely will be doing some winter shoots soon!) So let me talk about my mini-session mania!  

I do mini-sessions a little differently than most photographers. I usually pick a few weekends in October and November and have one spot in the morning and one in the afternoon. I also let the family choose the location or I choose it for them if they wish. I do this because of a few things – for one, I don’t want to be stuck in one spot all day long waiting for people to come to me. Secondly, I don’t want everyone’s Christmas card to have the same setting. I like people to choose their own taste. Finally, I don’t want to expose families to times of the day when eyes will be squinty and shadows are harsh. (I’m not knocking any photographer that chooses one location for minis. I’m just saying this is why I prefer to do it differently. 🙂 ) 

 

So my first session of the year was with the Scharf family! The last time I shot the Scharf family was in 2012 when I took photos of Austin and Evan while their dad was deployed. This year I was fortunate enough to get the whole family in front of my lens. We originally were going to shoot at the Kingsley Plantation but it didn’t open until 9 and we were there at 8. Fortunately, the area is very large and we found the Ribault visitor’s center. We were able to get these warm images and the boys were very cooperative! Loved shooting this family!

   
    
    
   

Leave a Reply

