Being My Own Guinea Pig

For some reason I feel the need to explain why I post pictures of myself that I take in my studio.  (Can we call them professional selfies? No? Ok. 😦 ) I definitely don’t want to be known as a “selfie queen” or anything like that.  

When you see me post pictures of myself, it’s for a few of reasons – the first being that I’ve learned a new photoshop skill and I want to practice.  The second is that I need to remind myself sometimes how nerve wracking the other side of the lens feels.  And finally, I want to know how to master a skill before I put a legit model in front of my camera.

So lately the thing that I’ve been messing with is changing hair color.  I’m a bit of a purist when it comes to editing so I never really thought about changing anyone’s hair color post-shoot.  I got this idea when my best friend was talking to me about a photoshoot she did for her job.  She told me they thought about changing her hair to an auburn color.  (Her hair is almost jet black.)  I have to say I was intrigued.  

So when this same best friend said I should dye my hair platinum, I thought she was crazy and set out to disprove her.  The result after 3 hours of proper selection, changing color curves, messing with levels and layers, and dodging and burning, was that I actually fell in love with the color and now want to do it. Haha! (I also know it still need a little more work but I was tired lol)

  
(Confession: I’m very easily influenced by her when it comes to fashion because she has IT.  Like seriously.  On point. Love ya, Mimi! 😉 ) 

So in the obsession of platinum I decided to try it again with a little bit of different lighting adding a reflector.  The problem was I couldn’t get the right hue again for some reason.  And again after 3 hours of tweaking I decided to go red which was a more popular choice among the masses but I’ve done it before so, meh.  

  

So, no, I don’t think I’m some sort of model or anything.  I know I belong on the other side of the camera, but practice makes perfect! (By the way, the hardest part in all of this is getting a sharply focused shot since there’s no one else looking through and adjusting the lens.)  

  
(Here I was practicing frequency separation, fyi)

One thought on “Being My Own Guinea Pig

Leave a Reply

