Finding my style – Diving into fashion

The first few months of this year I had a plan.  Oddly enough, it wasn’t really a plan towards my photography career.  Well, it was and it wasn’t.  I wanted to move to New York, but not as a photographer.  I wanted to become a higher position in my day job in order to just be able to move up north.  My husband wants to study culinary so I thought it would be a good opportunity for him as well.  Then I thought about pursuing photography while I was up there. 

 

I’ve had to ignore photography a bit because in order to get this new position, I have to get a license that I have to study for.  I started studying but I really just hate it.  It seems so counterintuitive.  I’m not a financial person.  I’m a creative.  My strengths are music and visual arts.  What the heck am I doing in the financial world?  How do I expect to get better at fashion if I’m not even shooting it.  I had to stop lying to myself.  I’m not ready to move yet.  I have nothing to show.  My portfolio is so weak.  

 

If I went to NY as a financial person, that’s where I’d stay.  And I’d be just as miserable but in a new city.  I still want to move.  Jax is not a fashion market by any means, but I just don’t know where yet.  I admire high fashion, but I don’t know if it’s my style.  To be honest, I haven’t found my style yet.  I look at my instagram and it doesn’t say ‘fashion’.  It says I’m a family photographer.  Which, even though I do enjoy family shoots, I’m not conveying the right image.  I wouldn’t hire me if I was an agency or clothing line.  I have nothing to show.  My work is scarce and it’s time to change that.

 

I really love swimwear, so that’s what I’m starting with.  I know that’s not fashion in its truest sense, but that’s where I’m starting.  So I have swimwear shoots booked every weekend starting mid-April.   I can’t expect to find my style if I’m not even shooting to find out.  So, my motto for the rest of the year – JUST SHOOT!






Leave a Reply

