If at First You Don’t Succeed…

My goal this year is to get my work published preferably in a well-respected magazine. I tried my hand at one with a beauty editorial. It was my first studio shoot of the year and I was eager to get the work submitted. I made sure to follow all the guidelines to a T including not sharing on social media. I waited the 7-10 business days and alas I heard nothing back which means I wasn’t selected.

It’s kind of a bummer but it was my first try. The theme for the issue I was submitting for was red/love so I decided to concentrate on hair and makeup for it. My make-up artist, Patricia Glenn, was all for it since she is also building her portfolio. The bad part is not knowing why you weren’t picked. The submission page even states not to contact them to ask why since it could be a number of things. I guess they don’t have time to critique every submission. Either way, it definitely won’t be my last try. There are many more opportunities to come!

2015/01/img_7592.jpg

2015/01/img_7591.jpg

2015/01/img_7594.jpg

2015/01/img_7593.jpg

2015/01/img_7595.jpg

2015/01/img_7596.jpg

2015/01/img_7598.jpg

2015/01/img_7597.jpg

Leave a Reply

