No ‘I’ in Team

For those who don’t know, I am a bit of a control freak.  I want to say this is true of some photographers who take pride in their work, although I can’t really use that as an excuse because I’ve been a control freak my whole life.  Perhaps for this reason I’ve yet to work with a make up or hair artist for my shoots.  However, this last shoot most definitely showed me that I really need to start putting together a team.  If you’ve been following my blog, you’ll know I am by nature pretty shy so that also contributes to the fact that I haven’t reached out to anyone yet.

On this last shoot, I took inspiration from the recent film Maleficent to style the hair and make up.  Now, make-up I can do pretty ok with.  This was the first time I had ever done hair on anyone in my life.  I was terrified, but I played it cool.  (Shout out to Michelle Anala-Williams for helping me with the how-to of the style!) Here’s a little behind the scenes of me doing the make up:

IMG_6500

The shoot literally lasted 30 minutes.  What took so long was the hair and make up.  I was trying to go as fast as I could since the model traveled from Gainesville and had to travel back that same night.  We ended everything at around 11 pm.

Overall I’m satisfied with the outcome of the shoot, though I think a lot more could have been done if I had 3 strobes instead of 2 in this case.  I’m starting to see the need for an extra one to get the lighting I need in my small studio.  The model, Shannon, was also very easy to coach with posing because she has a background in dance.  She was also a really good sport with me getting hair spray in her face and yanking her hair at times.

Malficent5 Maleficent8 Maleficent7 Maleficent6 Maleficent4 Maleficent3 Maleficent2 Maleficent1

Leave a Reply

