Minnows

So last night at church I led a discussion on anxiety and fear. All these great bible verses talking about how the Lord has everything under control, which is absolutely true. But I know why photography makes me anxious. I’m reading a really great book by photographer Zack Arias simply titled Photography Q&A. That book is going to be the death of me. At times I’ll finish a chapter and be completely motivated and inspired and then I move onto the next chapter and I’m like ‘omg, I’m never going to make it in this industry.’

I know nothing about fishing but I do know that minnows are an extremely small fish. And that’s what I am. I am a minnow in the midst of hundreds of thousands of other minnows in a huge ocean. And right now, nothing about my work makes me stand out in the sea of “photographers” out there. It’s going to take a lot A LOT of work to stand out and be noticed.

But you know what? I’ve never wanted anything more. I’m tired of settling for something I don’t want to do. I’m not at the point where I can quit my day job yet. But I want to be. So that’s it. It’s snapped. The switch has turned on. I’m going to shoot like crazy. I just am. That’s it. No more doubting. No more excuses.

I refuse to settle.

Leave a Reply

