Frustration Blurb

I just have to get this out because it’s something that doesn’t make sense to me. Lately when I give someone my packages, be it portraits or what not, I get asked if I charge for poses. No! What sense does that make? I see photographers do it all the time, but for me it doesn’t make sense. I love what I do so I’m going to pose you differently and choose the best ones. That’s my job as an artist. If I think 3 poses are great, I want to share that with you, the client. I wanna say ‘look how good you look!’ I dunno. At what point do you cross the line between art and business? I just always want to make sure I’m balanced and never make it all about the money. At the end of the day, art wins.

4 thoughts on “Frustration Blurb

  1. In a perfect world “Art” would win every time…but we have to eat and put a roof over our heads so that pesky little “Money” thing does demand a little attention.

    1. Oh definitely. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying we shouldn’t charge to make a living. Our skill and time should pay us well. I’ve had people ask me why I’m ‘so expensive’ and that irks me because they think we just snap pictures and are done. I’m mostly talking about when people get nitpicky about things like poses or what not. Honestly though I see that more with ‘corporations’ than anything else so maybe I should have clarified. Thanks for the comment though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

