Intimidation

So as I keep researching the fashion industry, I realize how hard I’m going to have to fight for what I want. Not that I thought I wasn’t going going to have to work of course. The chance of someone “stumbling” across your work and calling you for a job is kind of like winning the lottery-not very likely. I’ve made it a point not to let my camera rest more than 2 weeks at a time, even if this means funding my own shoots. That’s not the part that intimidates me. Let’s just put it this way… I don’t have very thick skin at this point in my career. As much as I try not to, I take critiques personally. I do take it well but it is hard for me to shake off for a while. Obviously if you want to get better, critique is necessary. So there’s that. Also, I’m kind of an introvert when it comes to meeting new people so the idea of calling modeling agencies that have never heard of me and asking them for models to test is a little nerve wrecking for me. And it’s one thing to shoot people I know or even shoot a wedding for someone because that’s just bread money, but when it comes to something you’re striving for, you take it a little more serious. So directing a model I don’t know to pose a certain way or do something makes me sigh thinking about it. I probably sound like a whiner. Haha. Honestly these are just thoughts that have been in my head. Things that I have to overcome. It’d be nice to spend a day with a well known fashion photographer to just peek into one of their days. Kind of like a ride along. I’m a very visual person so just reading about everything sometimes isn’t enough. Ok I’ll stop rambling. I won’t have any photos to show for the next couple of weeks so I hope you guys bear with me. I’ll be doing a photo shoot in Savannah next week so hopefully that goes well and it’s not too cold but until then bye!

Leave a Reply

