Finding it!

You know how they say “Find something you love to do and you won’t work a day in your life”? I’ve totally found it. I mean, obviously, I’m a photographer, but I’ve finally been able to pinpoint the type of photography that makes me content to work on regardless if I get paid or not. I love glamour photography. Recently, I found the difference between fashion and glamour. While they overlap, glamour tends to focus more on making the model look good instead of just the clothes. I found myself editing pictures from a recent shoot this morning(that I cannot wait to share with you by the way) that I did in Miami. I don’t know if I’m biased because the model is my best friend, but the shots came out absolutely gorgeous. My point is though, I hated having to stop so I could go to my day job. You know, the one that actually pays the bills? It’s really not that I hate my day job. It’s alright. The atmosphere is ok or whatever and it pays well, I just don’t want to settle for it. I’ve started to venture out on my shoots instead of just staying in Jacksonville and waiting for an opportunity to find me. I started in Daytona, then Miami and South Beach this weekend, and pretty soon I’m thinking of New York. Is anyone paying me for these? Nope. I’m investing money in what I love to do for the sake of the art! And I honestly don’t feel like it’s a waste of time or money because I just absolutely love it. It’s funny because I tell people, I don’t want to sit in front of a computer all day for the rest of my life. And then they ask me, isn’t that what you do when you edit pictures? I had to laugh at that because it’s true but it’s so different. I’m not answering phone calls, I’m making ART! And I’m working on a product that I took the time to create, you know? I just can’t wait for the day I get a break. I know photography is competitive especially because everyone wants to call themselves a photographer these days just because they buy the latest expensive camera while they don’t even understand the concept of lighting and composition. (So annoying) Word of advice: seriously, go after your dream. Don’t wait for an opportunity; make them. Don’t listen to anyone that tells you what you’re doing is pointless! It will pay off! Well, I don’t have even half of them edited yet but here is a little sneak-peek of this beautiful shoot.

20140205-095643.jpg

Leave a Reply

